sâmbătă, 6 februarie 2016

Blog Tour - Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk - REVIEW

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: January 26th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy, Mythology, Retellings, Romance, Fiction


A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow. 

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

To be honest I had some expectations about this one, because the cover is very cute and original, and also the synopsis is intriguing and funny, and it promises you somehow a very cute, light, fluffy and lovely read.

I don't say it was bad or I didn't enjoy it but it was a bit too predictible for me, the plot wasn't as complex as I wanted it, sometimes I felt like things got repetitive and nothing was moving and the characters were a bit maybe uni - dimensional. Also, I think that this can be enjoyed more by teenagers and younger people than as I read it at 23. Or I don't know, to be it seemed pretty childish compared with the situations the characters were in and with their age. 

And if I wasn't as impressed as I wanted to be by the characters and the plot, I liked the writing style; it's very light and cute and makes you feel warm inside and you just want to hug someone after finishing this or while reading it. I think it's a perfect read for Valentine's Day or just for when you want a romantic and fluffy, short and innocent read; because it's not New Adult, it doesn't have sex or steamy scenes in it and it's more about family, friendship, different type of relationship, maturity and how people and teenagers deal with different types of situations. And in this aspect I think that the book is very close to the truth, because how many guys don't and won't act as Danny did and does in the story? 

I consider that this book is worth reading and maybe if you don't have high expectations as I did you'll enjoy it even more, because if you don't take it too seriously, it's very lovely and a perfect romantic read. You can pick this up, snuggle with a pillow, eat some chocolate or some fruits and have a nice and relaxing night or day or morning. 

I'll end my review here, because I don't want to spoil anything for you, but I'll wait for you to read this, enjoy it, smile and then we'll discuss. Happy reading and keep in mind, if I didn't love it or it didn't blew my mind it wasn't bad. I mean, look at the rating! :))

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Optional: Her debut novel ARROWS is being published by Delacorte Press on January 26, 2016. She is represented by agent Carrie Howland of Donadio & Olson.

0 comentarii: